All About That Body Image

Have you heard Meghan Trainor’s song All About That Bass? It’s been highly lauded for promoting a healthy body image and for encouraging woman to love their bodies, no matter what the size. While I can agree with Meghan’s statement, “My producer and I wanted to do a fun song, so we thought why not do a song about loving yourself and loving your body, because I don’t think girls love themselves as much as they should. It’s a fun, playful song about loving yourself, loving your body, loving your insecurities, and having fun with it,” I do take umbrage with a few of the lyrics.

Meghan-Trainor-1024x576

You see, part of having a healthy body image is being comfortable with yourself for yourself.  But the message I gleaned from Trainor’s song is that she’s comfortable with her body because men like it.

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two
But I can shake it, shake it
Like I’m supposed to do
‘Cause I got that boom boom that all the boys chase
And all the right junk in all the right places

Yeah, my mama she told me don’t worry about your size
She says, “Boys like a little more booty to hold at night.”
You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll
So if that’s what you’re into then go ahead and move along

I don’t see any difference between being thin to gain approval and being thick to gain approval.  It’s all focused on someone else’s opinion instead of a healthy self-image.

The message sticks in my craw because I spent a great majority of my life disliking my body and thinking that if a man or men liked it, then I’d be comfortable with myself. But that doesn’t hold up.  Dating a kind, doting man didn’t/hasn’t cured my body issues. Christian telling me that I look pretty is nice but it doesn’t change my way of thinking if I’m feeling fat or unattractive. As long as I’m depending on someone else to give me validation, I’ll never get it. I’m still not 100% comfortable with my body and I still get down on myself a lot but I have come a long way.  I feel better now because I want this, I’m doing it for me and I’m learning to accept and love my body instead of waiting on someone else to do it and then following suit.

Side note: my sister hates the lyrics because the image of some guy just gently holding onto some girl’s booty while he sleeps grosses her out.  

IMG_4695
All About That Selfie

So, I have a few lyric edits for Miss Trainor:

Yeah, it’s pretty clear, I ain’t no size two
But I can shake it, shake it
If that’s what I want to do
‘Cause I got a body that can run at a healthy pace
And I can work up to bigger, longer races

Yeah, my mama she told me don’t worry about your size
She says, “Be healthy and comfortable and don’t obsess about your thighs.”
You know I won’t be no stick figure silicone Barbie doll
So if that’s what you’re into then that’s fine, we’re probably just not a perfect match. It’s cool

Contact me for more award-winning lyric ideas. I’m working on an ode to milk cows, inspired by Fall Out Boy titled, “Thanks For the Mammaries.”

tl;dr girl, do you

4 thoughts on “All About That Body Image

  1. We need to understand, that no one can make us happy, nor can we be responsible for anyone’s happiness. Happiness is every persons own responsibility. Being comfortable in our own bodies is harder to achieve as a woman, but worth the achievement.

    Like

  2. I seriously just (like 10 minutes ago) had very similar thoughts about those lyrics when this super fun, catchy song came on the radio. #soulmates

    Our bodies are obviously a very essential piece of who we are and it’s good that we want to be around people who recognize their beauty and value, but the problem is when we look to other people to our bodies value or decide whether they are beautiful or not.

    Loved the rewrite and Thanks for the Mammaries is major lolz.

    Miss you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

