Biggest Loser 5k

WP_20140803_07_56_21_Pro

I ran the Biggest Loser Run/Walk 5K yesterday and finished in my best time, to date! I felt amazing until about mile 2.5. Then I got super hot and really could’ve used a second water station.  But I pushed through and finished with an average pace of 10:24 and a total time of 31:04.  Best of all? I came in 17th in my age group! (If I hadn’t just turned 30, I would’ve been 20th or higher in the younger group.)

WP_20140803_08_38_46_Pro

Cute custom shirt by talented big sister Joy “Too Cute Designs” Jones. Visit her shop here.

While it was kind of annoying to have to dodge walkers, (for the love of pancakes, please stay to the right!) this race was encouraging because there were people of all shapes and sizes out there, walking, running, doing their best.  Some even had canes! I never really watched Biggest Loser.  In fact, I think I’ve only seen one episode and I rolled my eyes the entire time at the drama of it all. But I do commend them for inspiring so many people to make positive, healthy changes in their lives.

IMG_4330
The Bears are trying to recruit me. I’m trying Soldier Field on for size.

There was certainly a time, not too long ago, when I would’ve balked at the idea of walking a 5k, much less running one, because I didn’t think I was in shape enough to exercise.  Kind of a hilarious thought now. How did I expect to get in shape without exercise? So it was a nice reminder that when my goals seem really far away, the only way to achieve them is to start walking or running towards them.

The most beautiful photo ever taken of me.
The most beautiful photo ever taken of me.

This race was also great because of how much loot they gave away.  I didn’t even take half of the stuff they gave out and walked away with my bag stuffed full of goodies.

IMG_4332

In less inspiring news, I started seeing the scale creep back up this week.  I was frustrated and discouraged but it was kind of an inevitability given the fact that I’ve had like 5 birthday meals, enjoyed more than occasional cocktails and milk-based coffee drinks and have given myself too much leeway lately. I also haven’t tracked my calories in weeks, thinking that I’ve got this under control and there’s no way I could gain weight.  Wrong.  Will you help me stay accountable? I want to post my menu here each week (with calorie counts) and be held to it.  Also, if you see me socially or in the office, will you ask me how it’s going? Don’t feel shy! I need the encouragement.

And lastly, I’m including this picture because that little girl looks so mad about waking up early to run a race.  Especially with a gigantic bow on her head. Special thanks to race photographer and handsome boyfriend Christian for most of these pictures.

WP_20140803_08_01_08_Pro-2

tl;dr

go big girl, go big girl, go big girl, go

One thought on “Biggest Loser 5k

Leave a Reply

