5K report

This morning I ran my first* 5k! My goals were to run the whole thing without stopping and to finish in under 35 minutes.  I’m pleased to report that 1) I did not die 2) I ran the whole thing without stopping and 3) I finished in 30 minutes!

Baby's first 5k. Special shout outs to professional cheerleaders @xtianastro and Sarina.

A post shared by Sara Jane Castro (@saryjanecastro) on

The race wasn’t officially timed so I used the Nike app on my phone.  The GPS didn’t kick in right away and I forgot to hit the stop button until I’d been across the finish line for about 30-45 seconds but still! I’m super proud of myself for accomplishing my goals!

Before the race, I was a nervous wreck.  I welled up with tears like three times this morning because I was super scared.

Starting Line
Putting on a brave face for the camera.

Once the race started, I felt much better.  It was surprisingly much easier to run amongst all those people than it is to run alone. I’d pick out targets ahead of me to pass and I was delightfully distracted from any tiredness or pain by listening to an episode of The Bugle. I find it nicer to run with a podcast rather than music because I don’t know what’s coming next and I have to pay attention to the speaker rather than my run. Probably not a great plan if I was running to beat my time or something but it works for me now.

Since this race was called the Bacon Chase, they offered all-you-can-eat bacon, cups of bacon bits at the water stations along the trail and a bloody mary after the race.  I chose not to partake. Somehow the offer of greasy bacon and spicy tomato juice didn’t sound appealing when I’m drenched with sweat.

Bacon chase
Photos courtesy of photographer/boyfriend Christian Castro

I had a few very sweet supporters.  Christian stayed up way too late making signs and Sarina surprised me by showing up to cheer me on! I may or may not have welled up with tears again at the sight of them by the finish line.

Cheerleaders

Speaking of finish lines, Christian caught a picture of me smokin’ the old lady behind me.  Good thing she had a bloody mary to wash down all my dust she just ate.

Finish Line

At the risk of sounding like an ego-maniac, I’m incredibly proud of myself and I’m so glad I didn’t chicken out!  I felt good, comfortable and (dare I say it?) I’m really looking forward to doing more races in the future. Who knows? Maybe I’ll join Christian next year for the Indianapolis Half Marathon? We’ll see… first I need a hot shower and possibly a nap.

Post Race

*I’ve signed up for two 5Ks in the past but never run them.  One I walked with my college friends Rebecca and Diana and the other was one to support an animal shelter. Susie and I were so late for it, the 5K was over so we just walked around and pet peoples’ dogs.

tl;dr

ran a race, it was cool

7 thoughts on “5K report

  1. Your blog is so much fun to read and I am so happy for you! Did you get one of those bacon t-shirts? I hope so. Congratulations!

    Like

    1. I sure did! I elected not to wear mine for the race since it’s white and my only sports bras are dark grey and hot pink. I didn’t want to appear unseemly. I’ll wear it to Grandmama’s birthday party.

      Like

Leave a Reply

