Gooooooooooooooooooooooals

Since the World Cup is just around the corner and Christian is watching the Mexican national team play Bosnia as I type this, I thought I’d discuss goals.

When we first committed to getting healthy, our goal was just that: to get healthy.  I didn’t want to set myself up for failure by setting lofty goals I couldn’t meet.  However, I quickly learned that without smaller, clear milestones ahead of me, it was very easy to stray from the path.

The sales guy at the gym asked me about my fitness goals. Did I want to get in shape for the big 10-year reunion? Nope. I skipped it. Was an ex getting married? The perfect way to spell regret is with a bangin’ bod. Negative. There are no exes and I definitely wouldn’t go to their weddings. What was I trying to achieve by joining the gym and changing my eating habits?

Mindy

First and foremost, I wanted a lifestyle change.  I wanted to cook, eat and move in a way that would keep my body running for many years to come. I wanted to lower my risk for diabetes, high blood pressure and heart disease.  I wanted to be able to run and play with my future children and teach them how to make good food and exercise choices. I wanted to be able to walk into a store and not feel the need to only look at the accessories because I know nothing else will fit me. I wanted to stop feeling so disgusted, ashamed and uncomfortable every time I looked in the mirror (this one will take more than just physical changes but we’ll talk about that another day.) Basically, my goals were to be a healthy, happy person. Good goals for anybody but they’re all big picture.  I needed smaller, attainable achievements to keep me going.

I started by saying I wanted to lose 5 pounds in the first two weeks.  Not a bad start.  Other goals along the way included new pants sizes (I’ve gone from a snug 18 to a roomy 12 – depending on how generously they vanity size), running one mile without stopping, wearing shorts at all, wearing sleeveless tops at all, going an entire month with no cheats* and signing up for a 5K. My current goals are: to hit the 55 lb mark by June 27th, to run the entire 5K on Saturday without taking any breaks to walk, to drink one liter of water a day and to log every calorie I eat in MyFitnessPal.

The last time these shorts fit, I'd done a 12-week all liquid diet and was a senior in college. It might be time to get myself a new pair.
The last time these shorts fit, I’d done a 12-week all liquid diet and was a senior in college. It might be time to get myself a new pair.

I’d love to hear from you! What are your current goals for yourself? How do you stay motivated? Do you reward yourself with a treat or is the satisfaction of accomplishing something enough?

*I used to LIVE for cheat days and would think about nothing but the sweet, sweet freedom of eating all the things I wasn’t “allowed” to have.  I also had a really hard time not “rewarding” myself for doing well by eating poorly.  If I’m just exercising so that I can put away an entire pizza, I’m not making any headway. I’m now more flexible and if I absolutely cannot live without something that’s not on the plan, I have it.  It takes a lot more will power and reasoning with myself to decide if it’s worth it and I’ll often find myself winding back through the aisles of the grocery store, putting items back on the shelf.  “Cheating” isn’t as special when you do it all the time.  Then it’s just life.

tl;dr

pick a prize, set your eyes on it

2 thoughts on “Gooooooooooooooooooooooals

  1. Currently, I flex and tell Victor to feel my bicep or something and tell me how impressed he is.
    Knowing I worked hard and can feel a difference, plus him saying “wow!” really helps me stay motivated.

    Like

    1. Haha! Forced compliments are the best kind!

      Just teasing you. I can tell you’re getting those Kel Rip arms. Probably from carrying Weezy to and from the yard so often.

      Like

Leave a Reply

